Nature reserves gain partners

People’s Post

The formation of committees to oversee protected areas across Cape Town has been tabled.

Reports sent to several subcouncils across the southern suburbs called for councillors to be nominated for these new committees.

The report covers 17 nature reserves and natural environments across the city and includes popular sites like Zandvlei Estuary Nature Reserve, False Bay Nature Reserve, Wolfgat Nature Reserve and the Edith Stephens Nature Reserve.

According to a report tabled at the subcouncil meetings the Protected Area Advisory Committees (PAAC) exist to facilitate a participative approach in the management of protected areas and to represent all stakeholders.

The committees’ objectives will be to facilitate interaction between the management of these areas and the surrounding communities and to develop strategic partnerships.

The report also says the committees will aim to serve as a communication channel and assist with the implementation of management plans.

The committees will be statuary bodies formed under the National Environmental Management Act.

According to the report the constitution of the PAAC was finalised in November and public participation for nominations closed in March.

According to the constitution, the committees are advisory bodies rather than decision-making bodies.

They will consist of communities, councillors, ward communities and user groups. They may also include other affected and interested parties such as academic and research institutions, nature-based recreation bodies and tourism stakeholders.

The members of each committee will serve a three-year term after which their membership will be reviewed and the City can either renew or terminate their membership and request new nominations.

The PAAC will have a maximum of 20 members and a minimum of six.

The report recommends two councillors be nominated to serve on the committees which fall in their respective subcouncil areas.

In the South Peninsula subcouncil councillors Dave D’Alton and Elton Jansen were nominated to serve on the Zandvlei Estuary Nature Reserve committee. Councillors Shaun August and Patricia van der Ross were nominated to serve on the False Bay Nature Reserve committee.

In the Rondevlei subcouncil, councillors Marita Petersen and Clive van der Merwe were also nominated to the Zandvlei Estuary Nature Reserve committee.

In the Mitchell’s Plain subcouncils, councillors Sheval Arendse, Daniel Christians, Maria Weavers and Lungile Maci were nominated to serve on the Wolfgat Nature Reserve committee.

According to the resolutions for subcouncil 15, councillors Bernadette le Roux and Patrick Chapple will serve on the committee for Table Bay Nature Reserve.

Rondevlei subcouncil manager Okkie Manuels says councillors Thembinkosi Pupa and Andile Dube were nominated for the Edith Stephens Nature Reserve committee

This entry was posted in Bottom Road Sanctuary, News, Zeekoevlei News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>